Marathon

Most outside sources speaking about game addiction focus around the signs and warnings someone you know might be addicted.
One of the major signs is so called ‘marathon sessions’, times where players spend a whole day playing.

I know as someone who passionately enjoys games that i can spend an entire day playing. Provided I’m free of assignments i probably will.

Think about it like this,
If i was to spend all day at the skate park would that be a bad thing? Would people consider it to be one?
What about people like my dad who spend hours running every second day, is that addiction? Of course not.

But it is compulsion, the missing stage of normality that seems to elude the minds of concerned parents and members of the public. Sometimes I feel like people have forgotten there are many stages between playing all Saturday and playing three days straight till you have a heart attack.  In the last few days I’ve been busy with assignments and my gaming has adjusted to suit.
Largely my normal two to three hours has been pulled right back to zero to one. The more I avoid games, the more i want to play.

Do you feel the same?

WebMD would consider than withdrawal symptoms, but is it?
Surely I can’t simply miss a favored pass time?

Apparently not.

Any of you had a similar experience?
Hit me up on Twitter
@GameCompulsion

2 thoughts on “Marathon

  1. Pulling video game hours back to zero because of assignments is the most dreadful feeling ever, especially if you know it will continue into the upcoming weeks. At the same time, this sort of compulsion can be attributed to ANY hobbyist – if we can view gaming as a hobby.

    This is an excerpt from my upcoming blog post which i feel is quite relevant and on topic.

    Most negative attributes of gaming stem from the person spending far too much time and playing out of regulation, this was mentioned in the comments of my previous blog ‘World of Warcraft to play or not to play? My Story’. Take for instance; if a hobbyist was to read books day in and out, up to 14 hours a day, would that not have the same effect as a game ”addict”? The point of the matter is any non-physically demanding activity when done out of regulation would have an adverse impact on the person, whether this is painting, golf, bird watching, gambling, drinking, board or card games. (I kid the golf players)

  2. I believe that video game can be viewed as a hobby and spending more than 1 hour or even the whole day playing a certain game does not necessarily mean that you are addicted. I most certainly have had ‘marathon’ gaming sessions, however they usually occur due to the excited of a new game or interacting with friends through it.

Leave a Reply

